Grilled Gouda and Zucchini Panini aka Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Standard

Grilled Gouda and Zucchini Panini
As I’ve mentioned earlier I went on a bit of a cooking spree last Monday. I made a few things and one of the them was Warm Zucchini Salad, which is a bit of a misnomer because it has much more in there than just zucchini.
Zucchini Salad
I received an overwhelming response to this little dish. I am so happy you guys love vegetables! This cute sandwich here is not really a recipe, just an idea of how you can make your lunch more interesting and utilise your last night’s leftovers. I used my zucchini salad to give my grilled cheese sandwich healthy and delicious boost.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich is much loved in our family and although my children are still “grilled cheese purists” (bread and cheese only!) we have managed to diversify their taste; they have expanded from plain old cheddar to gouda and edam. I consider it my personal victory. You would understand if you knew how picky my kids are!

Brad and I, however, like our grilled cheese “posh”. Here is one I had for lunch yesterday. The preparation is as easy as the conventional method. Basically, all you need to do is sandwich your salad filling (make sure it’s not too wet or your sandwich will turn into “soggy cheese”) between two slices of gouda or any other favourite cheese of yours and bread, grill it until cheese is melted and bread is toasted. You can use you sandwich maker, panini grill or any other contraption you might have! Unfortunately, I don’t have any of the above, I I used my stove top cast-iron grill and put another cast iron pan on top of it. And here is the result. Not too shabby!

Grilled Gouda Zucchini Sandwich

grilled cheese

One response »

  1. Pingback: 50 AMAZING Grilled Cheese Recipes | Celebrate Grilled Cheese Month! on FamilyFreshCooking.com — Family Fresh Cooking

Leave a Reply

